Copter rescue planned for stranded Antarctic ship – CNN.com

Copter rescue planned for stranded Antarctic ship – CNN.com.

xuelong1

I think it is summer time, juxtaposed to the winter season in the northern climes.  So imagine that the ships are trapped by recently freezing sea water, completely surrounding these ships.  It is meters deep.  And the passengers think they can wait for the big THAW and still be back in port in Australia by the second week of January 2014??

I saw helicopters flying around and a news report saying the ice is unstable and probably cannot support landing an aircraft on the surface.  Well, in my neophyte mind, I would think that a research vessel must/should have a helipad capable of landing helicopters.  And my thought is that ice is not going away anytime soon.  I guess some of these folks could bet their lives on Global Warming coming to the rescue, but I would not.  Get these people off the ship and out of harms way.  Wait for the ice to melt?  Are you serious?  Are you frick’in kidding me?

Posted on December 31, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Copter rescue planned for stranded Antarctic ship – CNN.com.

Comments are closed.

